Why Your New Years Resolution Sucks.

Here’s the problem with achieving your New Years goals: The odds are stacked against you. We are creatures of habit and according to several studies this means that if you want to meet your New Years goal, you will have to work consistently hard at it for a little over 9 weeks…That’s 66 days to be specific. Ironically 66 is said to be the Devils number, just like going to the gym for 66 days in a row..hellish. According to a Forbes article only 8% of people are able to complete their New Years Resolutions. I am not here to be a Pessimistic Polly though. I am sure you are different than everyone else, and I am sure this article is for the 92% of quitters…not you!

One of the things I think we can all agree on is when we think about our New Year’s Resolution they provides us with a glimpse of hope. We are able to look into our future and see the people who we have always wanted to become- The skinnier, richer version of ourselves that is. Which in itself isn’t bad. However 92% of us are still failing at achieving these goals that we claim we will spend the year achieving. Here is why I believe we are failing:

A. We couldn’t find a solid way to turn our dream into a reality. We want to be rich but it’s hard to get a good paying job in a declining economy.

B. We felt like it was to much work. Getting up at 5am every day before work to go to the gym, then working 8 hour days is extremely exhausting!

C. We weren’t passionate about the things we were doing.

Despite failing at these goals year after year we continue to make new ones. If I could make one suggestion as to finding a way to join that 8% of people it would be choosing something you are passionate about, choose to fulfill one of the deep desires hidden in your heart. Joseph Campbell once said: “Passion will move men beyond themselves, beyond their shortcomings, beyond their failures. ” Meaning you will no longer have to force yourself to do the tasks that you told yourself you would complete this year, there will now be a pure motivation and desire that will drive you to do them.

If you are set on sticking with a a previous goal that you are not passionate about, intertwine it with a passion! I loath going to the gym, I rather be in bed watching Netflix on any day of the week. I am however passionate about competitions. My husband knowns this more than anyone- I turn board games, and everything else in my life into a bet. I love winning, its just something that ingrained in me. I can use this passion to stick to a goal of going to the gym. I find that having way someone with me to compete with, or just compete with myself really helps.

The way to set yourself up for success is using what you are good at to reach any goal. If you use what someone else is good at it  to accomplish what you want, it can take you twice as much work as it takes that person. You were designed uniquely and filled with giftings that only you will be able to use to affect and change the world around you. Use them, and make this a successful year of achieving your goals and dreams!

newyear.jpg

20 thoughts on “Why Your New Years Resolution Sucks.

  1. I love the way you think! Sounds like you’re off to a great start already. Positive thinking really does allow us the freedom to go further in life and achieve goals that we never dreamed were actually possible. Have a very Happy New Year!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is a great post!! I agree with you- particularly about C! Like you said- the trick is to make it something you’re passionate about! I find my new year’s resolutions only work when they’re something I want to do/I turn them into something I want to do!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good advice! I have found much higher rates of success given for New Year’s resolutions (which I think indicates a high likelihood that most are based on poor research or possibly entirely made up), bit I think you’re right. Passion is the key. And passion combined with realistic, measurable goals is probably even better. Happy 2017!

    Like

  4. Wow! Thanks.
    You brought out something I never considered. Intertwining my passions with the things I dredging to have my goals achieved. We are indeed uniquely gifted and wired with different passions that can take us places if we invest in them well.
    Thanks and May the LORD bless you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

